:

Professors

Tapas (kphua, Flickr)

Tapas (kphua, Flickr)

  • Jessi Aaron (Ph.D., University of New Mexico)
    Associate Professor of Spanish; Sociolinguistics, language variation and change, language contact, grammaticalization.
    Email (jeaaron@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Luis Alvarez-Castro (Ph.D., Ohio State University, Universidad de Valladolid), Associate Professor of Spanish; affiliate, Center for European Studies. 19th- and 20th-Century Spanish Literature and Culture. Graduate Coordinator.
    Email (lacastro@ufl.edu)
    Homepage
    CV
  • Shifra Armon (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University), Associate Professor of Spanish, Fulbright Research Chair (U Alberta, Fall 2017).  Baroque-enlightenment continuities, Cervantes, Early Modern Spanish literatures and culture studies.
    Email (sarmon@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Efraín Barradas (Ph.D., Princeton University), Professor of Latin American Studies and Spanish. Spanish American literature, especially of the Hispanic Caribbean and its diaspora; cultural studies.
    Email (barradas@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • M. Elizabeth Ginway (Ph.D., Vanderbilt University), Associate Professor of Portuguese. Brazilian literature and culture, Latin American science fiction and Fantasy.
    Email (eginway@ufl.edu)
    CV
    Home Page
  • Emily Hind (Ph.D., University of Virginia), Associate Professor of Spanish. Mexican Studies (Literature, Film, Culture, Politics, History); Latin American Literature and Film; 20th– and 21st– Century Critical Approaches within the Interdisciplinary Humanities.
    Email (ehind@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Gillian Lord (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Associate Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Second language acquisition, L2 phonetics and phonology, technology in foreign language education. Chair of the Department.
    Email (glord@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Ana de Prada Pérez (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Assistant Professor of Spanish. Bilingualism, language contact, sociolinguistics, syntax interfaces with other modules.
    Email (aprada@ufl.edu)
    CV
  • David A. Pharies (Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley), Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Romance historical linguistics. Associate Dean for Humanities, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
    Email (pharies@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Martín Sorbille (Ph.D., University of California-Los Angeles), Associate Professor of Spanish; affiliate, Latin American Studies; affiliate, Center for European Studies. 19th Century and early 20th Century Latin American literature and culture. Spanish-American film studies. Psychoanalysis. Literary and critical theory.
    Email (sorbille@ufl.edu)
  • Jorge Valdés Kroff (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Psycholinguistics, especially sentence processing in bilingual and second language speakers; Spanish-English code-switching; Spanish heritage speakers.
    Email (jvaldeskroff@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV

Emeriti

 

Non-tenure track faculty

Buildings (Eneas, Flickr)

Buildings (Eneas, Flickr)

Graduate Students

SPS Graduate Students, Fall 2017

More detailed information on the graduate students and their interests, as well as the Organización de Estudiantes Graduados de Español (OEGE) can be found on their page. 

  • Phillip Allen (philipallen@ufl.edu): Spanish Golden Age literature
  • Laura M. Callahan (lauracallahan@ufl.edu)
  • Antonio Cardentey Levin (antoniocl@ufl.edu)
  • Anthony Cazares (anthonycazares@ufl.edu)
  • Cody Conrad (crkconrad@ufl.edu)
  • Thomas “Buddy” Delegal (thomasdelegal@ufl.edu): bilingualism, code-switching, second-language acquisition
  • Luis Alberto Escudero (esfera@ufl.edu): Spanish literature (mainly novel) and its connections with other literatures
  • Alberto Fernández-Diego (a.fernandezdiego@ufl.edu): second language acquisition, teaching methods, pedagogy, phonology, psycholinguistics
  • Paula Fernández-Hernández (pfernand@ufl.edu): literature of Canary Islands and Caribbean (poetry, XXth-XXIst century)
  •  Laura Guillen-Matus (lguillenmatus@ufl.edu):second language acquisition of Spanish, intercultural communicative competence, study abroad, education in multicultural societies, and instructional technology
  • Rosa M. Pillcurima (rpillcurima@ufl.edu): 20th and 21st century Latin American Literature, Disability Studies, Cultural Studies
  • Nancy Pinzón (npinzoace@ufl.edu): XX and XXI Latin American literature
  • Falcon Restrepo-Ramos (frestrepo@ufl.edu): language variation in Spanish SLA, Western Caribbean creoles and Spanish language contact
  • Joel Robinson (jwrobinson@ufl.edu)
  • Alma García Rodriguez (almayrodriguez@ufl.edu): XXth and XXI century Hispanic Caribbean literature
  • Hernán Rosario (hernanrosario@ufl.edu): languages in contact, bilingualism, phonology, sociolinguistics
  • Sonia San Juan (s.sanjuan@ufl.edu): Spanish literature and culture studies
  • Mercedes Tejera (mercedestejera@ufl.edu): 20th and 21st century Transatlantic Literature: Iberian and Latin American science fiction; focusing on gender and politics: Mass media culture and neoliberalism
  • Diana Velázquez-López (dvelazlo@ufl.edu): contrastive phonetics, L2 phonetics, language teaching methods
  • Melany Vergara Suárez (melanydcv@ufl.edu): the social economy of the body in 20th and 21st century Latin American narrative
  • Monica Wilinski (hodwil@ufl.edu): second language acquisition; Spanish as a Heritage Language, teaching methods
  • Greity Gonzalez Rivera (ggonzalezrivera@ufl.edu)
  • María Hernández González (maria.hernandezg@ufl.edu) Indigenous identity in contemporary Latin American literature and visual arts
  • Nick Judd (njudd@ufl.edu)
  • Mariandreína Kostantinov (mkostantinov@ufl.edu): bilingualism, multilingualism, second language acquisition, phonetics, phonology
  • Damaris Mayans-Ramón (mayansr1@ufl.edu): psycholinguistic aspects of bilingual and multilingual acquisition with a focus on processing of lexical-syntactic information
  • Hamideh Mohammadi (hmoh@ufl.edu): psycholinguistics, sentence processing, second language acquisition, bilingualism
  • Francesc Morales García (fmorales1980@ufl.edu): cultural studies, intellectual history, digital humanities, cultural history, horror film, archaeology, political violence
  • Francisco Morales Ríos (franemor@ufl.edu): sociolinguistics, language variation and change, language contact, language teaching and technology
  • Marcela Murillo (marzum@ufl.edu): XX and XXI Latin American literature, gender studies, cultural studies.
  • Lori Nevin Lye (lorin@ufl.edu): second language acquisition; teaching methods
  • Haidee-Yeraldini Ortiz (ortiz.h@ufl.edu): 20th and 21st century Latin American literature (short stories and novels)
  • Máximo Pérez Jiménez (mperezjimenez@ufl.edu): Heritage Speakers, bilingualism, second language acquisition
  • Patricia Tavares (pinfantino0908@ufl.edu): Latin American science fiction, horror and fantasy, 19th century Latin American literature 

 

Other instructors