:

Professors

Tapas (kphua, Flickr)

Tapas (kphua, Flickr)

  • Jessi Aaron (Ph.D., University of New Mexico)
    Associate Professor of Spanish; Sociolinguistics, language variation and change, language contact, grammaticalization.
    Email (jeaaron@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Luis Alvarez-Castro (Ph.D., Ohio State University, Universidad de Valladolid), Associate Professor of Spanish; affiliate, Center for European Studies. 19th- and 20th-Century Spanish Literature and Culture. Graduate Coordinator.
    Email (lacastro@ufl.edu)
    Homepage
    CV
  • Shifra Armon (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins), Associate Professor of Spanish. Early modern Spanish literatures and culture studies. Faculty advisor for Sigma Delta Pi (Hispanic Honor Society).
    Email (sarmon@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Efraín Barradas (Ph.D., Princeton), Professor of Latin American Studies and Spanish. Spanish American literature, especially of the Hispanic Caribbean and its diaspora; cultural studies.
    Email (barradas@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • M. Elizabeth Ginway (Ph.D., Vanderbilt), Associate Professor of Portuguese. Brazilian literature and culture, Latin American science fiction and Fantasy.
    Email (eginway@ufl.edu)
    CV
    Home Page
  • Emily Hind (Ph.D., University of Virginia), Associate Professor of Spanish. Mexican Studies (Literature, Film, Culture, Politics, History); Latin American Literature and Film; 20th– and 21st– Century Critical Approaches within the Interdisciplinary Humanities.
    Email (ehind@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Gillian Lord (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Associate Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Second language acquisition, L2 phonetics and phonology, technology in foreign language education. Chair of the Department.
    Email (glord@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Ana de Prada Pérez (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Assistant Professor of Spanish. Bilingualism, language contact, sociolinguistics, syntax interfaces with other modules.
    Email (aprada@ufl.edu)
    CV
  • Charles A. Perrone (Ph.D., University of Texas), Professor of Portuguese and Undergraduate Program Coordinator. Affiliate, Latin American Studies. Luso-Brazilian studies and literature.
    Email (perrone@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • David A. Pharies (Ph.D., Berkeley), Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Romance historical linguistics. Associate Dean for Humanities, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
    Email (pharies@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Martín Sorbille (Ph.D., UCLA), Associate Professor of Spanish; affiliate, Latin American Studies; affiliate, Center for European Studies. 19th Century and early 20th Century Latin American literature and culture. Spanish-American film studies. Psychoanalysis. Literary and critical theory.
    Email (sorbille@ufl.edu)
  • Jorge Valdés Kroff (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Psycholinguistics, especially sentence processing in bilingual and second language speakers; Spanish-English code-switching; Spanish heritage speakers.
    Email (jvaldeskroff@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV

Emeriti

 

Non-tenure track faculty

Buildings (Eneas, Flickr)

Buildings (Eneas, Flickr)

  • Susana E. Braylan (M.A., Florida). Senior Lecturer. Coordinator of Bilingual Program.
    Email (sbraylan@ufl.edu
    Home Page
     CV
  • Kathryn Dwyer-Navajas (M.A., ABD, Johns Hopkins).  Senior Lecturer. Co-coordinator of Spanish 1130.
    Email (navajas@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Andrea Ferreira (M.A., Ph.D. Candidate UF Latin American Studies; BA with High Honors History UF). Lecturer in Portuguese.
    Email (deia@ufl.edu)
    CV
  • Antonio Gil (M.A. Spanish and Italian, Oregon). Lecturer. Administrative Coordinator of Lower Division Spanish. Assistant to Chair.
    Email (agil@ufl.edu)
  • Víctor M. Jordán-Orozco (M.S., Nova Southwestern; M.A., Ph.D., University of Florida).  Lecturer. Coordinator of the Spanish 1131.
    Email (vjordan@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
    CV
  • Su Ar Lee (Ph.D., Ohio State University).  Senior Lecturer. Coordinator of SPN 2240.
    Email (sulee@ufl.edu)
    CV
  • Ximena Moors (M.A., University of Arizona; PhD, University of Florida). Senior Lecturer. Coordinator of Spanish 3300 and 3301
    Email (xmoors@ufl.edu)
    CV
  • Gregory Moreland (M.A., P.hD., Florida). Senior Lecturer. Spanish Undergraduate Advisor. Foreign Language Across the Curriculum coordinator.
    Email (moreland@ufl.edu)
    CV
  • Clara Eugenia Sotelo (M.A., Ph.D., University of Florida). Senior Lecturer. Coordinator of Spanish 2200 and 2201.
    Email (wandy@ufl.edu)
    CV
    Website: www.csotelo.org
  • Jennifer Wooten  (M.A., UNC Chapel Hill, P.hD., Georgia). Lecturer. Director of Language Teaching.
    Email (wooten@ufl.edu)
    CV

Graduate Students

Running of the bulls, San Fermin (Suarez Leandro, Flickr)

Running of the bulls, San Fermin (Suarez Leandro, Flickr)               

  • Phillip Allen (philipallen@ufl.edu): Spanish Golden Age literature
  • Antonio Cardentey Levin (antoniocl@ufl.edu): Caribbean & U.S. Latino/a studies (historical novel, women narratives), critical theory (affect, geocriticism).
  • Christopher Dean (cdean248345@ufl.edu): psycholinguistics, SLA
  • Nofiya Denbaum (ndenbaum@ufl.edu): Hispanic linguistics; sociolinguistics
  • Luis Alberto Escudero (esfera@ufl.edu): Spanish literature (mainly novel) and its connections with other literatures
  • Patricia Infantino (pinfantino0908@ufl.edu): Latin American science fiction, horror and fantasy, 19th century Latin American literature
  • Valerie Jepson (vajepson@ufl.edu): phonology, second language acquisition
  • Damaris Mayans-Ramón (mayansr1@ufl.edu): psycholinguistic aspects of bilingual and multilingual acquisition with a focus on processing of lexical-syntactic information.
  • Hamideh Mohammadi  (hmoh@ufl.edu): psycholinguistics, second language acquisition, morphosyntax
  • Francesc Morales García (fmorales1980@ufl.edu): cultural studies, intellectual history, digital humanities, cultural history, horror film, archaeology, political violence.
  • Francisco Morales Ríos (franemor@ufl.edu): sociolinguistics, language variation and change, language contact, language teaching and technology
  • Marcela Murillo (marzum@ufl.edu): XX and XXI Latin American literature, gender studies, cultural studies.
  • Rosa M. Pillcurima (rpillcurima@ufl.edu): 20th and 21st century Mexican literature, Chicano/a Studies, disability studies
  • Nancy Pinzón (npinzoace@ufl.edu): XX and XXI Latin American literature
  • Falcon Restrepo-Ramos (frestrepo@ufl.edu): language variation in Spanish SLA, Western Caribbean creoles and Spanish language contact.
  • Joel Robinson (jwrobinson@ufl.edu)
  • Alma García Rodriguez  (almayrodriguez@ufl.edu): XXth and XXI century Hispanic Caribbean literature
  • Sonia San Juan (s.sanjuan@ufl.edu): Spanish literature and culture studies
  • Mercedes Tejera (mercedestejera@ufl.edu). XX and XXI Centuries Iberian and Latin American science fiction; gender and politics
  • Diana Velázquez-López (dvelazlo@ufl.edu): contrastive phonetics, L2 phonetics, language teaching methods
  • Melany Vergara Suárez (melanydcv@ufl.edu): the social economy of the body in 20th and 21st century Latin American narrative
  • Monica Wilinski (hodwil@ufl.edu): second language acquisition; Spanish as a Heritage Language, teaching methods
  • Paula Fernández-Hernández (pfernand@ufl.edu): literature of Canary Islands and Caribbean (poetry, XXth century)
  • Lori Nevin (lorin@ufl.edu): second language acquisition; teaching methods

Other instructors