People

Professors

Tapas (kphua, Flickr)

Tapas (kphua, Flickr)

  • Jessi Aaron (Ph.D., University of New Mexico)
    Assistant Professor of Spanish; Sociolinguistics, language variation and change, language contact, grammaticalization.
    Email (jeaaron@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • Luis Alvarez-Castro (Ph.D., Ohio State University, Universidad de Valladolid), Associate Professor of Spanish; affiliate, Center for European Studies. 19th-Century Spanish Literature. Graduate Coordinator.
    Email (lacastro@ufl.edu)
    Homepage
  • Shifra Armon (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins), Associate Professor of Spanish. Early modern Spanish literatures and culture studies. Faculty advisor for Sigma Delta Pi (Hispanic Honor Society).
    Email (sarmon@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • Efraín Barradas (Ph.D., Princeton), Professor of Latin American Studies and Spanish. Spanish American literature, especially of the Hispanic Caribbean and its diaspora; cultural studies.
    Email (barradas@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • M. Elizabeth Ginway (Ph.D., Vanderbilt), Associate Professor of Portuguese and Graduate Program Coordinator. Brazilian literature and culture, Latin American science fiction and Fantasy.
    Email (eginway@ufl.edu)
  • Gillian Lord (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Associate Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Second language acquisition, L2 phonetics and phonology, technology in foreign language education. Chair of the Department.
    Email (glord@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • Ana de Prada Pérez (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Assistant Professor of Spanish. Bilingualism, language contact, sociolinguistics, syntax interfaces with other modules.
    Email (aprada@ufl.edu)
  • Charles A. Perrone (Ph.D., University of Texas), Professor of Portuguese and Undergraduate Program Coordinator. Affiliate, Latin American Studies. Luso-Brazilian studies and literature.
    Email (perrone@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • David A. Pharies (Ph.D., Berkeley), Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Romance historical linguistics. Associate Dean for Humanities, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
    Email (pharies@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • Martín Sorbille (Ph.D., UCLA), Associate Professor of Spanish; affiliate, Latin American Studies; affiliate, Center for European Studies. 19th Century and early 20th Century Latin American literature and culture. Spanish-American film studies. Psychoanalysis. Literary and critical theory.
    Email (sorbille@ufl.edu)
  • Valerie Trujillo (Ph.D., University of Florida), Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish. Hispanic Linguistics, heritage language.
    Email (vtrjujillo@ufl.edu.)

Emeriti

 

Lecturers

Buildings (Eneas, Flickr)

Buildings (Eneas, Flickr)

  • Jesse Gleason  (Ph.D., Iowa State University, M.A. Universidad Católica de Chile).  Classroom discourse, blended learning, TBLT and content-based instruction. Coordinator, Lower Division Spanish and Portuguese.
    Email (jgleas@ufl.edu)
    Home Page 
  • Cari Jiménez (MA, Auburn). Spanish for Health Professions.
    Email (cjimenez2@ufl.edu) 
  • Víctor M. Jordán-Orozco (M.S., Nova Southwestern; M.A., Ph.D., University of Florida).  Coordinator of the Spanish 1134.
    Email (vjordan@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • Su Ar Lee (Ph.D., Ohio State University).  Coordinator of SPN 2240.
    Email (sulee@ufl.edu)
  • Ximena Moors (M.A., University of Arizona; PhD, University of Florida). Lecturer in Spanish. Coordinator of Spanish 3300 and 3301
    Email (xmoors@ufl.edu)
  • Gregory Moreland (M.A., P.hD., Florida). Foreign Language Across the Curriculum. Liaison, Center for International Business Education and Research. Spanish Undergraduate Advisor.
    Email (moreland@ufl.edu)
  • Clara Eugenia Sotelo (M.A., Ph.D., University of Florida). Coordinator of Spanish 2200 and 2201.
    Email (wandy@ufl.edu)
    Website: www.csotelo.org

 

Graduate Students

Running of the bulls, San Fermin (Suarez Leandro, Flickr)

Running of the bulls, San Fermin (Suarez Leandro, Flickr)

Organización de Estudiantes Graduados de Español (OEGE)

Masters Students

  • Hans Duque (hansd@ufl.edu): XX century Latin American literature, Brazilian studies, religious studies, mass media and the writting of history
  • Whitney Koonce (whitney.koonce@ufl.edu)     
  • Verónica Dávila (v.davila@ufl.edu) Caribbean Lit, 20th and 21st Century Latin American Lit, ethnomusicology, Cultural Studies
  • Adrienne Fama (afama@ufl.edu): Second language acquisition and teaching
  • Brandon Shufelt (bshufelt1@ufl.edu): Second Language Acquisition and Phonetics/Phonology

Doctoral Students                          

  • Paola Arboleda (paoarboleda@ufl.edu):Gender, queer and social justice issues in Latin American contemporary film and literature; Critical theory/decolonization
  • Osmer Balam (obalam@ufl.edu): multilingualism, phonetic and grammatical convergence in Contact Spanish, code-switching
  • Yanina Becco (ybecco@ufl.edu): Contemporary Spanish and Argentinian theater
  • Carlos Bertoglio (carlos.bertoglio@ufl.edu): XIX, XX and contemporary Argentinian Literature: now working on soccer literature/gauchesca
  • Antonio Cardentey (antoniocl@ufl.edu): Caribbean Literature/Literary and Critical Theory/Cultural Studies
  • Claudia Costagliola (claucost@ufl.edu): Latin American Literature, Queer Theory, AIDS discourse and representation of homosexuality in literature
  • Meagan Day (mmday@ufl.edu): Sociolinguistics, Language Variation and Change, Language Contact
  • Ana Maria Diaz Collazos (anamdiaz@ufl.edu): Sociolinguistics, Philology, Discourse Analysis, Pragmatics, Lexicography, Language Contact
  • Esmeralda Duarte (eduarte@ufl.edu): Contemporary Mexican Literature (crónica), Women and Cultural Studies
  • Luis Alberto Escudero (esfera@ufl.edu): Spanish literature (mainly novel) and its connections with other literatures
  • Patricia Infantino (pinfantino0908@ufl.edu): Latin American Sci Fi, Horror and Fantasy; 19th Century Latin American Literature
  • Valerie Jepson (vajepson@ufl.edu): Phonology, Second language acquisition, Linguistic change
  • Heather Kaiser (hrrobert@ufl.edu): Discourse analysis and pragmatics, Sociolinguistics, Second language acquisition
  • Antonio-Sajid López (antoniosajid@ufl.edu): Latin American Theater; Caribbean Poetry; Service-Learning Abroad
  • Damaris Mayans-Ramon (mayansr1@ufl.edu): L2/L3 acquisition (phonology and morphosyntax), simultaneous acquisition of heritage languages and phenomenon in contact varieties with a focus on psycholinguistic research methods
  • Dave Miller (dmiller114@ufl.edu)            
  • Francesc Morales Garcia (fmorales1980@ufl.edu): Political, social, cultural and intellectual history; archaeology; philosophy of history; horror cinema
  • Francisco Morales Ríos (franemor@ufl.edu): Sociolinguistics, language variation and change, language contact, language teaching and technology
  • Matthew Michel (mattpmichel@gmail.com): Renaissance dialogues, Civic Humanism, discourse of Empire, rhetorical strategies to avoid censorship
  • Marcela Murillo (marzum@ufl.edu): Latin American Literature, particularly Andean Literature
  • Martha Osorio-Cediel (osorio01@ufl.edu): Intermedial and Cultural Studies in Latin America
  • Giovanna Rivero (annagio@ufl.edu):
  • Alma Rodriguez  (almayrodriguez@ufl.edu): Late 19th and early 20th Century Peninsular Literature
  • Mercedes Tejera (mercedestejera@ufl.edu): XX and XXI Iberian and Latin American Literature
  • Alex Torres (gwat@ufl.edu)
  • David Vasquez (dvasquezh@ufl.edu): Golden Age and Colonial Literature; Monstrosity, Magic Imaginaries and Occultism in Early Modern Hispanic Culture
  • Roberto Weiss (reweiss1@ufl.edu): Argentine literature and cinema particularly works that emerged as cultural responses to the Falklands-Malvinas War. Psychoanalysis and theory.
  • Monica Wilinski (hodwil@ufl.edu): Second Language Acquisition; Spanish as a Heritage Language and Teaching Methods
  • Andrea Villa (avilla@ufl.edu)

 

Other instructors