People

Professors

Tapas (kphua, Flickr)

Tapas (kphua, Flickr)

  • Jessi Aaron (Ph.D., University of New Mexico)
    Assistant Professor of Spanish; Sociolinguistics, language variation and change, language contact, grammaticalization.
    Email (jeaaron@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • Luis Alvarez-Castro (Ph.D., Ohio State University, Universidad de Valladolid), Associate Professor of Spanish; affiliate, Center for European Studies. 19th-Century Spanish Literature. Graduate Coordinator.
    Email (lacastro@ufl.edu)
    Homepage
  • Shifra Armon (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins), Associate Professor of Spanish. Early modern Spanish literatures and culture studies. Faculty advisor for Sigma Delta Pi (Hispanic Honor Society).
    Email (sarmon@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • Efraín Barradas (Ph.D., Princeton), Professor of Latin American Studies and Spanish. Spanish American literature, especially of the Hispanic Caribbean and its diaspora; cultural studies.
    Email (barradas@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • M. Elizabeth Ginway (Ph.D., Vanderbilt), Associate Professor of Portuguese. Brazilian literature and culture, Latin American science fiction and Fantasy.
    Email (eginway@ufl.edu)
  • Emily Hind (Ph.D., University of Virginia), Associate Professor of Spanish. Mexican Studies (Literature, Film, Culture, Politics, History); Latin American Literature and Film; 20th- and 21st- Century Critical Approaches within the Interdisciplinary Humanities.
    Email (ehind@ufl.edu)
    Home Page (coming soon)
  • Gillian Lord (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Associate Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Second language acquisition, L2 phonetics and phonology, technology in foreign language education. Chair of the Department.
    Email (glord@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • Ana de Prada Pérez (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Assistant Professor of Spanish. Bilingualism, language contact, sociolinguistics, syntax interfaces with other modules.
    Email (aprada@ufl.edu)
  • Charles A. Perrone (Ph.D., University of Texas), Professor of Portuguese and Undergraduate Program Coordinator. Affiliate, Latin American Studies. Luso-Brazilian studies and literature.
    Email (perrone@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • David A. Pharies (Ph.D., Berkeley), Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Romance historical linguistics. Associate Dean for Humanities, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
    Email (pharies@ufl.edu)
    Home Page
  • Martín Sorbille (Ph.D., UCLA), Associate Professor of Spanish; affiliate, Latin American Studies; affiliate, Center for European Studies. 19th Century and early 20th Century Latin American literature and culture. Spanish-American film studies. Psychoanalysis. Literary and critical theory.
    Email (sorbille@ufl.edu)
  • Jorge Valdés Kroff (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University), Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics. Psycholinguistics, especially sentence processing in bilingual and second language speakers; Spanish-English code-switching; Spanish heritage speakers.
    Email (jvaldeskroff@ufl.edu)
    Home Page (coming soon)

Emeriti

 

Lecturers

Buildings (Eneas, Flickr)

Buildings (Eneas, Flickr)

  • Su Ar Lee (Ph.D., Ohio State University).  Coordinator of SPN 2240.
    Email (sulee@ufl.edu)
  • Ximena Moors (M.A., University of Arizona; PhD, University of Florida). Lecturer in Spanish. Coordinator of Spanish 3300 and 3301
    Email (xmoors@ufl.edu)
  • Gregory Moreland (M.A., P.hD., Florida). Foreign Language Across the Curriculum. Liaison, Center for International Business Education and Research. Spanish Undergraduate Advisor.
    Email (moreland@ufl.edu)
  • Clara Eugenia Sotelo (M.A., Ph.D., University of Florida). Coordinator of Spanish 2200 and 2201.
    Email (wandy@ufl.edu)
    Website: www.csotelo.org

 

Graduate Students

Running of the bulls, San Fermin (Suarez Leandro, Flickr)

Running of the bulls, San Fermin (Suarez Leandro, Flickr)

Organización de Estudiantes Graduados de Español (OEGE)

Masters Students

Doctoral Students                          

  • Osmer Balam (obalam@ufl.edu): multilingualism, phonetic and grammatical convergence in Contact Spanish, code-switching
  • Yanina Becco (ybecco@ufl.edu): Contemporary Spanish and Argentinian theater
  • Carlos Bertoglio (bertoglio@ufl.edu): XIX, XX and contemporary Argentinian Literature: now working on soccer literature/gauchesca
  • Antonio Cardentey (antoniocl@ufl.edu): Caribbean Literature/Literary and Critical Theory/Cultural Studies
  • Victor Castrilli (castrv@ufl.edu) Language contact and change, dialectology, L2 and L3 acquisition, TAM, morphosyntax, Spanish and Portuguese linguistics.
  • Claudia Costagliola (claucost@ufl.edu): Latin American Literature, Queer Theory, AIDS discourse and representation of homosexuality in literature
  • Meagan Day (mmday@ufl.edu): Sociolinguistics, Language Variation and Change, Language Contact
  • Luis Alberto Escudero (esfera@ufl.edu): Spanish literature (mainly novel) and its connections with other literatures
  • Patricia Infantino (pinfantino0908@ufl.edu): Latin American Sci Fi, Horror and Fantasy; 19th Century Latin American Literature
  • Valerie Jepson (vajepson@ufl.edu): Phonology, Second language acquisition, Linguistic change
  • Antonio-Sajid López (antoniosajid@ufl.edu): Latin American Theater; Caribbean Poetry; Service-Learning Abroad
  • Damaris Mayans-Ramon (mayansr1@ufl.edu): L2/L3 acquisition (phonology and morphosyntax), simultaneous acquisition of heritage languages and phenomenon in contact varieties with a focus on psycholinguistic research methods
  • Francesc Morales Garcia (fmorales1980@ufl.edu): Political, social, cultural and intellectual history; archaeology; philosophy of history; horror cinema
  • Francisco Morales Ríos (franemor@ufl.edu): Sociolinguistics, language variation and change, language contact, language teaching and technology
  • Matthew Michel (mattpmichel@gmail.com): Renaissance dialogues, Civic Humanism, discourse of Empire, rhetorical strategies to avoid censorship
  • Marcela Murillo (marzum@ufl.edu): Latin American Literature, particularly Andean Literature
  • Martha Osorio-Cediel (osorio01@ufl.edu): Intermedial and Cultural Studies in Latin America
  • Rosa M. Pillcurima (rpillcurima@ufl.edu): Contemporary Latin American Literature (novel / poetry) and Latin American Cultural Studies
  • Nancy Pinzon (npinzoace@ufl.edu): XX and XXI Latin American Literature
  • Mildred I. Rivera (mir09@ufl.edu) Medieval and Golden Age Literature
  • Giovanna Rivero (annagio@ufl.edu): Mexican Contemporary Literature: The “Resurrection” of the Political Subject. Utopia and Modernity. Latin American Science Fiction.
  • Alma Rodriguez  (almayrodriguez@ufl.edu): Late 19th and early 20th Century Peninsular Literature
  • Mercedes Tejera (mercedestejera@ufl.edu): XX and XXI Iberian and Latin American Literature
  • Alex Torres (gwat7@ufl.edu): Contemporary Latin American and Spanish Literature, Cultural Studies (Popular/Pop Culture), Critical Theory.
  • David Vasquez (dvasquezh@ufl.edu): Golden Age and Colonial Literature; Monstrosity, Magic Imaginaries and Occultism in Early Modern Hispanic Culture
  • Gregorio Vázquez-Méndez (gvazquez2@ufl.edu): Morphosyntax, Phonetics/Phonology, Language Variation, Spanish as a Heritage Language and Teaching Methods
  • Daniel Garcia Vieyra (playaazul12@ufl.edu) Mexico 20th century literature
  • Monica Wilinski (hodwil@ufl.edu): Second Language Acquisition; Spanish as a Heritage Language and Teaching Methods
  • Andrea Villa (avilla@ufl.edu): Feminine Neobaroque in Latin American literature and the visual arts

 

Other instructors